De Dokter is a historic café in Amsterdam, founded in 1798 by a surgeon from whom it takes its name, considered the smallest pub in the city. The interiors are characteristic, with antique chandeliers, candles and a birdcage, creating an evocative atmosphere where you can taste the pub's specialties: whiskey and smoked beef sausages.
Café De Dokter History
Café "De Dokter", or as it is called by the people "Het Doktertje", was founded on September 2, 1798 by a surgeon from the nearby hospital "Binnengasthuis" and since that year it was a pub of the Beems family. The sixth generation, Jannie and Jan Beems have been running this pub for forty years already.
After the beginning it became the local pub of doctors and medical students of the nearby City University. Since thirty years this hospital has been closed together with the "Wilhelmina Gasthuis" and both hospitals have become the Amsterdam Medical Center on the edge of the city.
De Dokter is the smallest pub in Amsterdam, with an area of 18 square meters. It has a unique atmosphere and decoration, with old jazz records always playing in the background.
De Dokter is located right in the heart of the city, between the Spui con te Beguinehof and the Old Town Orphanage, dating back to the Middle Ages, on one side, and Dam Square, the former "Binnengasthuis" and the Allard Pierson Museum on the other side.
The pub is famous for its Limburg brand beer, delicious house wines and varied assortment of whiskies.