An ancient noble residence, built at the end of the 16th century in the heart of the Po Valley on the border between the Cremona and Mantua areas, at the center of vast feudal domains surrounded by the relaxing greenery of the Lombard countryside. Over 400 years of history lived through the splendid environments still today frescoed and fully furnished with a unique atmosphere and full of great charm.
Castello Mina Della Scala History
Built at the end of the 16th century, the Castle was born as a sumptuous noble country residence, even if with architectural forms that still recall those fortified from the previous period, which make it a sort of unique in the territory. The work of construction is due to the Schizzi, one of the oldest families of the Cremona nobility, from 1559 invested with the title of "Lords of Casteldidone" and from 1670 Counts of the homonymous feud. Between the mid-seventeenth and mid-eighteenth century the Schizzi themselves initiated important interventions of embellishment and expansion of the structure, including the addition of the beautiful cycle of mythological-themed frescoes in all the rooms of the noble wing for a total of over 20 decorated ceilings. Even today the dwelling is entirely intact, with the four twin towers on either side of the building that enclose the noble residential part, the side wings with the service areas, the private Oratory with the Chaplain's quarters, the Ballroom / Theater and remittances. With the extinction of the Counts Schizzi the Castle passed in 1859 to the Mina Della Scala family, whose sixth generation still preserves it today with its own heirs, the Conti Persico Licer.
The history of the Castle is linked to the legend of the spirit of an ancestor of the Schizzi house, left alone and abandoned in the great rooms of the manor after a serious plague and whose spirit still hovers in search of peace; a presence that manifests itself in the full moon of January of each year, near the grand staircase. The Countess Anna Maria Douglas Scotti of Fombio, mother of the current owners told various episodes to her happened to the local media but also in television broadcasts, newspapers and national magazines starting from the 90s, which had aroused a lot of interest on the subject, which is continued over the years to the present day.
The family tree of the owners of the Castle, from the Mina Della Scala family to the Conti Persico Licer family, has had in its long history several important historical figures, including soldiers, doges, such as the Doge Paolo Renier, consuls, politicians, as well as a Pope, Pope Benedict XV Of the Church, of which in the castle a rare and precious collection of heirlooms that belonged to him is preserved.
Today, as then, the Castle opens its doors to guests and visitors who want to savor its essence, an ideal universe for discovering history and noble life on the occasion of Guided Tours, themed events, or for event locations, cultural moments, banqueting, concerts and more. The entrance towers offer simple and comfortable hostel rooms with B&B formula.