The Schloss Krumbach is located in the heart of the extremely charming landscape of the "Bucklige Welt" and lies south of Krumbach on a green hill at the bottom of the Zöbernbach, which stands out around the castle hill to the north. The enormous structure standing free on all sides dominates the entire landscape of the Krumbacher Becken.
Schloss Krumbach History
Already from the outward appearance one can perceive the venerable age of the external structure of the Schloss Krumbach, although it has undergone significant changes over the centuries following multiple additions and connections. The height of the castle is largely surrounded by forest, which is a natural park.
The fortress whose construction dates back to the 11th century belonged at that time to a line of fortresses built to protect against Hungarian invasions.
The Hungarian invasions in 1246 and 1260 largely destroyed the castle. The year 1250, date of the consecration of the castle chapel, gives an approximate indication of the time of construction of the present castle.
1394 bequeathed the last Krumbacher "Hans von Krumbach" the rule with all the accessories his uncle (uncle) Pellegrino III. of Puchheim and his brothers.
For over 200 years the Krumbachs were in possession of the fortress. In 1629 Krumbach became the property of the family of the Counts of Palffy-Erdöd.
In 1683 Krumbach was besieged in vain by the Turks The year of the revolution in 1848 caused Krumbach a little excitement. Since the subjugated relationship was abandoned, the "Krumbach rule" was terminated
In 1993, after a 17-month renovation, Krumbach Castle opened to the public as we know it today.
During the renovation, the former prison yard was covered and a vinoteca was established. The prison cells that still exist have been converted into wine fields.
In the halls of the castle there are now also a restaurant with local specialties and a lounge bar where you can relax while sipping a wide selection of wines.