The Hotel Villa Grazioli is housed in the hunting lodge of the Dukes Grazioli Lante della Rovere of the adjacent Palazzo Grazioli, now home to the Canadian Embassy.
The hotel offers an enchanting internal garden with bar service, a quiet reading room and tastefully furnished rooms.
Hotel Villa Grazioli History
Located in one of the most elegant and quiet areas of Rome, the exclusive Parioli district, between the greenery of the large Villa Ada and Villa Borghese parks, surrounded by historic villas that house numerous embassies, the Hotel Villa Grazioli welcomes its guests with the atmosphere of an ancient residence and charming environments, to relive the refinement of a bygone era,
Ancient hunting lodge of the Dukes Grazioli Lante della Rovere, the finely restored Hotel Villa Grazioli retains all the grace and class of Villa Grazioli, now home to the Canadian Embassy, combined with the comforts of a modern 4-star hotel.
When the villa became the property of the Grazioli family at the end of the 19th century, the main building consisted of a typical square farmhouse, called Villa Lecci.
This magnificent example of architecture is still preserved today, even if surrounded by other buildings that arose with the fragmentation of the villa in the various changes of ownership after the sale by the Grazioli family and the subdivision of a large part of it.
In fact Pietro Badoglio, after the victory in Ethiopia in 1937, received from Mussolini as a prize, ten thousand square meters of Villa Grazioli, in the corner part with via Bruxelles.
The renovation and expansion of the property was entrusted to Giovani Riggi who obtained the style buildings, still present in the area today, built starting from 1887: the stables, a neo-Gothic tower and the medieval building with rusticated facings, brick frames, turrets, balconies and loggias.
Later, at number 56, a palace was built by the architect Clemente Busiri Vici which he simply renamed "Villa Badoglio". Thus part of the villa, in the green area that has always remained free, was lost and remained outside the real Grazioli property, today the seat of the Embassy of the People's Republic of China.
In 1949 the rear part of the villa was purchased by the Municipality of Rome and became a public park.
Since 1997 the old farmhouse has housed the Hotel Villa Grazioli, with its main entrance at number 241 in via Salaria; for this new purpose it has been restored again by the architect Patrizio Busiri Vici.
But the real Villa Grazioli Lante della Rovere is now identified with the only portion that has remained intact facing the Via Salaria. The villa remained the property of Grazioli Lante della Rovere until 1968, after which it passed from owner to owner while maintaining its characteristic buildings, as is the particular entrance on Via di Villa Grazioli, at number 4, with two doors.
Thanks to its strategic location, the Hotel ensures a relaxing stay and the opportunity to visit all the beauties of the Eternal City: a few minutes from the suggestive Coppedè district, with a pleasant walk, guests can visit the lush park of Villa Ada and the Catacombs of Priscilla; the beautiful Villa Torlonia, home to the museum of the same name, and the charming Casina delle Civette; the Park of Villa Borghese with the renowned Gallery, which contains masterpieces by Bernini, Borromini, Caravaggio and many other artists; the National Gallery of Modern Art and the lively Piazza Bologna area.