The picturesque Castle of Giomici, dating back to the year 1000, stands in the middle of a vast agricultural estate, with halls, court and family garden for aperitifs and receptions. Inside the structure there are some luxurious apartments and rooms and a small parish church from the 1200s.
Castello di Giomici History
According to the legend, the castle was named after this Glomisso, a German nobleman who came to Italy following Otto III of Saxony, who was the first lord. Subsequent feudal lords were the Counts of Suppolini, lords of Casacastalda and Compresseto, and the counts of Coccorano of Longobard descent. Federico Barbarossa assigned it first to Assisi (1160), then to Gubbio (1163), a privilege also confirmed by the other emperors: Henry VI, son of Barbarossa, and Ottone IV.
The first evidence of the presence of the Vagni family at the castle of Giomici dates back to 1412. Since then, despite the many vicissitudes and historical changes that have involved this place, for centuries at the center of war conflicts between Assisani, Eugubini and Perugini, the Vagni always kept the role of castellani, who today share with their guests. This is the ideal place for those looking for simplicity and ancient traditions, but also the historical-naturalistic context is fascinating. The manor dominates a perfectly preserved medieval village of the 12th century, surrounded by over 160 hectares of land planted with olive trees and vineyards and meadows where free avellinesi horses and herds of Chianina cattle graze. Two lakes, complete with this bucolic picture, are accessible to guests for sport fishing.
The offer for accommodation is very varied and includes apartments of various sizes and types, some of them are distributed in the castle - particularly impressive on the third floor with a terrace on the tower -, others are made in the premises once used as stable, others in a series of ancient stone farmhouses distributed in various points of the estate, at a distance of about two or three kilometers. The furnishings are those typical of country houses, with furniture in poor art and wrought iron, brick fireplaces and ceilings with wooden beams, which contribute to create warm and charming atmospheres. The use of the pool, located near the Palombaro farmhouse, five-a-side football fields, beach volleyball and bicycles, is included in the rates of the stay, while the rent of horses for riding lessons is considered extra. A truly special experience is then the search for truffles with dogs trained in the land owned.
For those wishing to try local cuisine, in Valfabbrica there are many restaurants and typical trattorie, while at the company's sales point you can buy wine, oil and other products, which will prolong the memory of this experience even after returning home.
Adjacent to the castle is the parish church of St. Michael the Archangel, built around 1154, in which there are fragments of frescoes by Matteo da Gualdo and a ceramic altarpiece of the Della Robbia style, while in the residence of the family residence Balestra conserves the frescoes of the ancient counts of Giomici, Rinaldo and Ugolino II.