Splendid stately building overlooking the Grand Canal, near Campo Santo Stefano and the Accademia Bridge, Palazzetto Pisani makes every stay in Venice unique, immersing guests in an atmosphere of refined elegance.
Palazzetto Pisani History
The Pisani family, known since 1300 for commercial and financial activities in Venice, left the residence of Santa Maria del Giglio and built the palace in Santo Stefano where the descendants lived. However, this majestic building could not overlook the Grand Canal.
It was for this prestigious view that Andrea Pisani in 1751 bought the Palazzetto from the Marquis Giovanni Poleni, which has its façade on the Grand Canal. On this occasion the interiors were modified and the wall was torn down to divide the two buildings, but this change lasted only for a few years.
The Pisani family property continued until 1816 when it became the private residence of the Duke of Genoa, while during the Second World War it was occupied by English officers. At the end of the war, the last heirs of the Pisans reacquired the Palazzetto making it their residence.
It is today inhabited by the Counts Ferri De Lazara, direct descendants of the Pisans, who continue the tradition of hospitality of their ancestors: the rooms and suites, equipped with every modern comfort but equally rich in history and tradition, are furnished in antique style and original of the time and transport the guest in the evocative atmosphere of the Venetian palaces of the past.