The Cinque Torri refuge is a alpine hut founded in 1904 located in the municipality of Cortina d'Ampezzo, stands at the base of the Cinque Torri.
Rifugio Cinque Torri History
The alpine hut was inaugurated on 4 October 1904 initially as Albergo 5 Torri by three private individuals from Cortina, the brothers Manaigo and Colli, it is one of the oldest historical structures in the area. In 1914, during the First World War it became an important seat of the Italian army, even hosting King Vittorio Emanuele III
visiting the front. After the conflict, Cortina d'Ampezzo became part of the Kingdom of Italy (1918) and the refuge initially became property of the army, then after various trades in 1937 it was purchased by the Alberti "Lelo" family, which still owns it. and manager.
To experience the atmosphere of the early twentieth century when climbers from all over the world began to discover the Dolomite beauties, the Alberti family invites hikers to sit at the table to taste the dishes of the past, imaginatively reviewed by chef Massimo. Try the "casunziei", ravioli filled with seasonal vegetables: from red beets, to peppers, from potatoes to pumpkin, everything accompanied by homemade bread.