The palace, dating back to the end of the fifteenth century, was the residence of the Marquise Anna d'Alençon and has been built almost completely intact until today. It is a beautiful residential building still used and divided into several residential units.
Palazzo di Anna d'Alencon History
The Palace, dating back to the XV-XVI century, was the residence of the famous Marquise Anna d'Alençon, wife of William IX Paleologo.
From that period is the picturesque Renaissance courtyard, surrounded by circular brick columns with cubiform capitals, an arcade with pointed arches and a coffered ceiling; inside the large rooms are decorated with coats of arms, frescoes and painted tablets representing characters from the Paleologa family. At the end of the 17th century. it belonged to the Fassati of Balzola, whose coat of arms appears on the barrel vault in the entrance.
The construction has come down to our times almost completely intact. Restored by Eng. Vittorio Tornielli in 1929, the noble residence returned to its former glory thanks to a recent and careful cleaning of the decorations.