Kremsegg Castle is easy to find for music-loving visitors. It is located halfway between the music metropolises of Salzburg and Vienna. With its unique and valuable collections and exhibitions, it forms the basis for continued development towards an international center of excellence for scholarship, research and education.
Schloss Kremsegg History
From the 13th century, the fortified place "Crembseck" served as a refuge for the population of Kremstal, the lord of the castle was the von Roth family. In 1464, when Barbara Rothin married Andreas Grünthaler, the castle became the property of the noble Grünthaler family. Around 1600 there was also the historically significant "Grünthaler family book" at the local level. The Protestant Grünthalers were forced to leave the country during the Counter-Reformation. In 1627 Anton Wolfradt, the abbot of the nearby Kremsmünster abbey, acquired the property with his lordly domain. The conversion to the castle was almost certainly carried out by Jakob Prandtauer on behalf of his successors.
In 1848 the monastery sold the castle, which saw many changes of ownership in the following period.
In 1929 the castle came into the possession of Countess Kinsky. After Therese Kinsky's death in 1973, her cousin and adopted son, Count Czernin, sold the castle to the Lutzky family in 1976. The castle and its parks have been extensively restored and refurbished. A vehicle museum has been set up in the castle, exhibiting cars and motorcycles. In 1996 the sponsoring association Musica Kremsmünster took over the castle and in the same year held the first exhibition of musical instruments. The classic car collection was sold to the Oldtimer Museum Kröpfl in Hartberg in Styria.