The See Villa combines the elegance of the past with the luxury of the present. It is this philosophy that we live every day in our home as we try to enchant our guests with the tradition and charm of imperial history. The Villa was built in 1884 and for this reason it gives our guests that sense of history that makes our home so unique. For the past 40 years, the See Villa has been managed by the aristocratic family of Italian origin, the Tacolis. A commitment to continuity, a passion for hospitality and the personal efforts of the whole family and team makes it possible to live a unique holiday experience to delight our guests.
Schlosshotel See Villa History
years around 1870 played an important role in the history of Millstatt
and marked the beginning of a remarkable transformation in which, in a
very short time, Millstatt became a famous and exclusive summer
destination for noble and wealthy families of the Austro-Hungarian
monarchy. It was also in the year 1870 that the history of the See Villa
began when the wealthy publisher and son of a bohemian glass industry
tycoon, Rudolf Schürer von Waldheim came to Millstatt to bid on pristine
and idyllic grounds on Lake Millstatt which lay between the Hotel
Forelle and the Pesentheiner peninsula.
This property was the
ideal place to build a summer hotel directly on Lake Millstatt. Schürer
sought the experience of the renowned architects Mayreder and Köchlin
(builders of the Ronacher in Vienna) to design the See Villa. The See
Villa building complex was originally made up of a main building. On the
ground floor there was an elegant dining room and a large kitchen with
apartments for the staff. A so-called "icehouse" was also built for the
storage of meat and vegetables. This closet occupied the entire ground
floor while the first floor was reached via an external spiral
Between these two buildings were a series of calf
sheds. In the place where the parking lot is located today, there was a
Russian bowling alley and next to this, there were the shelters for
carriages which were the most advanced means of transport used by the
nobility at the time.
Subsequently a large boathouse was built
near the lake. This was used for fishing and swimming. The boathouse is
still there today.
The north side of the complex was used as a
garden and had a large greenhouse where exotic shrubs and bushes were
grown in order to keep the hotel full of fresh flowers.
addition to the main buildings, the architects Mayreder and Köchlin also
designed the Villa Tacoli which at the time was called the "old German
house". This was intended as a private home for the owner's family.
Villa Tacoli was completed in 1881. The hotel complex was completed a
year later. It opened its doors for the first time in 1884. At the end
of the 20th century, the Tacoli villa was opened to all guests as part
of the See Villa complex.
Despite the size of the hotel and its
idyllic lakeside location, Schürer von Waldheim initially found it
difficult to promote his hotel and persuade people to travel to such a
remote area. In an attempt to promote his new adventure, he commissioned
ten oil paintings from the famous painter Danaut and had them exhibited
in the See Villa. After seeing the advertisements in the media of the
time, many prominent figures visited Millstatt and discovered the
natural beauty of the place.
On June 7, 1885, Archduke Karl,
together with Prince Ludwig of Austria, the younger brother of the
Austrian emperor Franz Joseph I, visited the Villa-See and gave it much
praise. This led to a significant increase in the popularity of the
hotel and the greater Millstatt area.
Villa Verdin is located
east of the See-Villa hotel and was originally called Villa Kamerovsky.
It was built by the Rothschild family. The park villa was built by Baron
Schwarz while Baron von Musil built the Schloss Heroldegg in white
stone, taking inspiration from his palace in France. These villas are
known to all as landmarks of the city of Millstatt.
About six years after the hotel complex opened, Rudolf Schürer von Waldheim, founder of the See-Villa, died.
Schürer's death, his property was divided among his children. The See
Villa passed under the ownership of his daughter Jacqueline who in 1884
married Rudolf Freiherr von Isbary, an Austrian industrialist of the
For a short period immediately before and after
the First World War, the hotel was used by Countess Pallavicino, one of
Jacqueline's daughters, for private purposes. It was later inherited by
one of the descendants of one of her sisters, Baroness Marga Musulin of
Gomirije, who will reopen it for visitors.
In 1941 Baroness Marga
married Gherardo Marquise Tacoli, an aristocrat of an old Italian
family and honorary citizen of the city of Birkfeld. From 1976 to 2014,
the hotel management was supervised by one of their children, the
Marquis Antonio Tacoli. Under his direction, extensive renovations were
carried out and many innovations were introduced into the hotel complex.
One of his first plans was to renovate the restaurant. During these
renovations, particular care was taken in preserving the original design
of the building that was developed.
See Villa enjoys a quiet location on Lake Millstatt and offers a
wellness area, a separate children's pool, a tennis court, a private
beach and free WiFi. Guests are entitled to discounted rates for the green fee at the Millstatt golf course, just 1.5 km from the hotel.